All Gone Pear Shaped…

I guess I’m not on my own when hoarding images from magazines, books etc. in the notion that ” I think that will make a good painting one day” In a moment of weakness, I thought it was high time to sort through the “Archives” firstly to create some space for future work but also finally start some of these ideas off, for better or worse.

In truth, I’ve never been great at focusing these images, keeping them in note books and annotating them for that precious day. Moreover, Looking at some of them recently, thinking my perception, possibly taste  not to mention my own work has moved on since I put them away, and some of them years ago. Paradoxically, I’m not precious about my own work and happy to take a photo of it and bin it if its outlived its usefulness.

I’ve kept the sketchbooks from previous courses but most of the work has been recycled. Partly, due to lack of space and partly simply not required anymore.

 

WP_20170218_13_26_06_Pro (2)

A4 Sketchbook drawing of a Quince

The above drawing is taken from an old article I kept from the Artist magazine, by Sandrine Maugy. I really like her work, technically superb and like most botanical artists, predominantly works in watercolour.

The idea was to just keep drawing and finding different images from the archive to keep it interesting for me and helps trying different subjects. I was really happy with the drawing and initially just to keep at that. I felt compelled to paint it too, I had the oils out for another project so off I went. The image below doesn’t help with the reflection but hopefully gives an idea. I traced the graphite drawing and placed it directly to the side. It was handy to have a tonal study next to the painted version. As you can probably see I spent more time on the drawing than on the painting….

WP_20170226_13_51_06_ProThe colours I used were not directly as the Maugy Article, I used what was on my palette – Yellow Ochre, Naples Yellow, Transparent Maroon, Ultramarine and Cerulean Blue – the result is a dirtier, muddier version of the Maugy watercolour and I prefer the drawing but one ticked off. Will I keep them? – long term possibly not but certainly for the new “Archive”

Another pear related article, again an old one from the Artist magazine, this time by artist Ian Sidaway. His original was a gouache painting I think, I just kept the final painting image not the how to.  I enlarged the image and drew it, see below

 

WP_20170205_16_44_54_Pro (2)

Bag of Pears – Graphite on Paper, A4 – After Ian Sidaway

I found it an interesting and challenging drawing to produce, particularly to get the paper bag to work with the pears. Tonally strong and against the original holds up fairly well. Happy with it

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment